Awesome cheap used bikes on Staten Island

I was in the market for a road bike, and was thinking about saving up for a new fandango thingy.  I scoured the intranets and looked at Trek’s new commuter bikes and salivated.  I looked at Bianchi’s for a second, and then looked at an affordable Wellington when finally my girlfriend ask me “Why don’t you get a used bike?”

Because of the fact that she knows how impulsively I buy things and get caught up in pretty shiny things, I answered “ugh….. oooohhhhh… yeah…. fine.” There were too many reasons why I should buy a used bike that in those few seconds I realized that maybe she was right.  We tend to share the idea of “Why build more when you can utilize what already exists?”  Sometimes this fact makes my inner impulse buying side grumble, but its true.  Especially in Staten Island.  Just look at the housing.  There are so many developers tearing down beautiful historic homes and putting up cheap row houses everywhere.  If they bought up old houses, and spent money fixing em up instead of putting crappy row houses that look crappy, then the Island would look much more quaint in more areas.

Anyhoo…

So I started looking around on Craigslist on the suggestion of a few people and found all these ads for bikes from a guy (BY THE FERRY)

A remember a friend of mine mentioning a person selling these bikes and getting a great deal on a vintage bike.  Why not.  I texted him and we met up.  He showed me his collection of vintage cruisers and road bikes, and saw a beautiful yellow Columbia.  I mentioned that I blog about bikes, and said not to mention his number.  Understandable.  He was great and awesome.

I’ve also been told that the (NEW DORP MAN) is also a great place to find some great commuter bikes for cheap.  I haven’t met him yet, but am looking forward to see him in the future.  Evidently he has access to alot of abandoned bikes, so I’d check him out as well.

So I’m off to ride my vintage road bike. You should definitely just check out whats around if you are in the market.  If you are not racing or just need a bike to get around, why not get used.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

